Miamisburg celebrated its Bicentennial anniversary in 2018, and citizens enjoyed a year-long observance of this milestone. This is a community with a keen appreciation of its rich history.
In the Beginning
On Feb. 20, 1818, four men from Pennsylvania -- Emanuel Gebhart, Jacob Kercher, Dr. John Treon and Dr. Peter Treon -- offered for sale at public auction 90 lots in a new town by the name of Miamisburg. Situated on the left bank of the Miami River, the plat was divided into square lots containing one-fifth of an acre.
The small community had been known as "Hole's Station" since about 1797, when Zachariah Hole settled there with his family from Virginia and built a stockade as protection from Native Americans. In the interim, many settlers had arrived in the area, mostly from Pennsylvania. The name Miamisburg was derived from the Miami Native American tribe that resided there, combining "Miamis" with "burg," which denotes a borough or town. By 1832, the unincorporated community had become a village and achieved City status about 100 years later.
The Miamisburg Mound
Once serving as an ancient Native American burial site for the Adena tribe, the Mound stands as perhaps the most recognizable historic landmark in Miamisburg. It is the largest conical burial Mound east of the Mississippi River and remains virtually intact from its origins hundreds of years ago. Located in a City park at 900 Mound Avenue, it is an Ohio historical site and serves as a popular attraction and picnic destination for area families. Visitors can climb to the top of the Mound via concrete steps built into its side.
Daniel Gebhart Tavern
Serving during the 1800s as a gathering place for local residents and as a resting place for travelers, it stands today as a museum at the corner of Lock and Old Main streets. This parcel is known as Heritage Village and also includes the Kercher Pioneer Home that once belonged to one of the City founders. The Gebhart museum is open June through September on Sundays from 2 to 5 p.m., or by appointment. The Miamisburg Historical Society (see info below) coordinates the use of Heritage Village.
Baum Opera House
This historic structure was built by Charlie Baum in the late 1800s on what is now First Street in downtown Miamisburg. It has had a number of unique uses over the years, but faced possible demolition in the early 1990s when the non-profit Baum Opera House Association was formed and purchased the building at a sheriff's sale. Extensive interior and exterior renovations have occurred since that time, and today the facility hosts entertainment and community events and is available for rental. Visit www.baumoperahouse.com for more information.
Miamisburg Historical Society
The Miamisburg Historical Society is a volunteer organization dedicated to the collection and preservation of data, artifacts and memorabilia relating to the history of the Star City and Miami Township. The Society hosts a variety of programs throughout the year for the general public and is headquartered in the Miamisburg History Center on Fifth Street.
More information can be found at https://www.historicalmiamisburg.org/ Contact the Miamisburg Historical Society at 859-5000 or P.O. Box 774, Miamisburg, Ohio, 45342-0774. The Miamisburg Historical Society is certified by the Ohio Association of Historical Societies and Museums.